Department of Mechanical Engineering


DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING                                           Department Group Pictures  

The Department of Mechanical Engineering was established in the year 1981at the time of inception of MVSREC.

The department offers two under graduate programmes, B.E in Mechanical Engineering, B.E in Automobile Engineering with an intake of 120 and 60 seats respectively and one Post Graduate Programme, M.E. with specialisation in CAD/CAM with an intake of 18 seats

The department has a team of 38 highly qualified, motivated and experienced faculty with 5 faculty having Ph.D qualification and 30 faculty having M.E./ M.Tech qualification under various areas of specialisation.

The department has well equipped laboratories with research facilities and is actively involved in many fabrication and research projects in collaboration with leading R&D organizations.

The department has to its credit Management training programs, industrial consultancy and funded projects from government bodies. These connections serve to benefit students in the form of good placements, well-equipped laboratories and industrial exposure

The department is associated with Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE), Renewal Energy Club, Fiber Glass Industries Association of Andhra Pradesh (FIAAP).

The department also conducts student level technical event called “SAMAVARTHAN” once in two years and “AUTOCOGNIZANCE” every year featuring events like technical paper presentation, Assembly test, CAD test, Automobiles Display, etc with active participation from students all over the state. These events help enhance the students' technical skills and update their knowledge in developments in engineering and technology.

The students of the department have successfully fabricated All Terrain Vehicles (ATV), Efficycle, etc at college itself and actively participated in SAE events like “SAE-BAJA”, “EFFICYCLE”, etc.

The students of the department also have Mechanical Engineering Student Association (MESA), which is a forum for students to develop their professional skills.

A unique feature of the department is that all the technical events for the students are completely planned, organised and executed by the students themselves, thus giving them complete independence, paving way for their personality development and refining of their leadership abilities.

Best Teacher Awards: The College awards the “Best Teacher Award (BTA)” for outstanding faculty members in every department. The award is based on opinion polls conducted by the students, who rate the faculty based on various criteria set by the departments. The award carries a Gold Medal and a Certificate of Appreciation.

NBA: The BE(Mech.Engg) course of the department has been Provisionally Accredited by the National Board Accreditation in 2002, 2007 and 2013 (for two years).

nbaThe BE(MECH) Course of the department is Provisionally Accredited by National Board of Accreditation for two years with effect from 8th  Nov 2013.    

Articles View Hits
   Mon, 08-Feb-2016, 05:34 PMDepartment Details.
Powered by Joomla 1.7 Templates
Developed by Department of MCA